Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
AUB Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS)
About Us
Academic Departments
Degrees and Programs
Financial Aid and Scholarships
Student Services
Faculty and Staff
Contact Us
A History of Excellence

​​​​Public health education and research activities at the American University of Beirut (AUB) go back more than 100 years, when community oriented physicians at the AUB School of Medicine initiated studies of epidemics and community health problems.

A public health center was established in 1927, with a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation. It served as a community resource conducting field projects in underserved areas.

In 1948, the Department of Public Health was established within the School of Medicine. This department offered certificate and non-degree programs in public health and sanitation; the fact which attracted students from the whole region.

In 1954, the School of Public Health was founded as the region's first independent public health faculty. Several departments were established sequentially. A Bachelor of Science (BS) in Environmental Health was offered starting in 1961 and the Master of Public Health (MPH) program was initiated in 1971. Non-degree and certificate programs were gradually phased out to be fully discontinued in 1976. The name of the school was changed to that of the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS) in 1978 to reflect the addition of related health programs.

The Delta Omega: Honorary Society in Public Health​ ​​​

In October, 2010, the Graduate Public Health Program at FHS initiated a Delta Omega chapter. Our AUB chapter is the Gamma Delta chapter. As stated on its website, Delta Omega is the honorary society for graduate studies in public health. The society was founded in 1924 at then Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. There are currently 68 chapters throughout the United States and abroad.

The chapters elect new members each year from four groups:

  1. Students who are candidates for a graduate degree in public health
  2. Faculty members at the school of public health
  3. Alumni actively engaged in public health work
  4. Honorary members possessing exceptional qualifications.

Election from all three groups is based on outstanding performance: scholarship in students, teaching and research in faculty members, and community service in alumni. Election to membership in Delta Omega is intended not only to recognize merit, but also to encourage further excellence in, and devotion to, public health work. Membership in Delta Omega reflects the dedication of an individual to quality in the field of public health and to protection and advancement of the health of all people.

CEPH accreditation

Furthermore, in 2006, The Graduate Public Health Program (GPHP) of the Faculty of Health Sciences became accredited by the Council on education for Public health (CEPH) and was reaccredited in 2011 for seven years.

Accreditation indicates that the GPHP of the FHS meets standards for Public Health Education of leading programs of public health in the World.







Contact us Jobs Disclaimer Copyright Non-Discrimination/Title IX