Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Human Research Protection Program (HRPP)

Institutional Official (IO)

Interim Provost Muhamad Harajli, PhD. Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architecture.

HRPP Director

Ali Abu-Alfa, MD. Professor of Medicine, Head of Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, Department of Internal Medicine.

Biomedical IRB


Fuad Ziyadeh, MD. Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry, Chairperson, Department of Internal Medicine.

Vice Chairs

Deborah Mukherji, MBBS. Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine. Hematology- Oncology Division, Department of Internal Medicine.

Rami Mahfouz, MD. Professor and Director. Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.

Regulatory Analysts& Assistants

Abeer Dakik, MSc. Senior Regulatory Analyst and co-administrator. IRB Member.

Karine Ismail, MSc. IRB Regulatory Analysts, ex-officio.

Dana Fakhreddine, MS. Assistant IRB Regulatory Analyst. ex-officio.


Elie Akl, MD, PhD. Associate Professor of Medicine. Department of Internal Medicine. Director- Clinical Research Institute.

Sahar Siddik-Sayyed, MD. Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology. 

Imad Uthman, MD. Professor of Medicine, Rheumatology Division, Department of Internal Medicine

Hazem Assi, MD. Assistant Professor and Director. Hematology- Oncology Division, Department of Internal Medicine.

Dina Chamsy, MD. Assistant Professor and Director. Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology.

Wassim Nasredine, MD. Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology, Department of Internal Medicine

Yaser El-Hout, MD. Assistant Professor of Surgery, Urology Division, Department of Surgery.

Marwan Refaat, MD. Associate Professor of Cardiology, Department of Internal Medicine

Samar Muwakkit, MD. Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine.

Hani Tamim, PhD. Associate Professor. Internal Medicine. Director of Biostatistics Unit - Clinical Research Institute

Lamya Ann Atweh, MD, Instructor, Department of Diagnostic Radiology

Najwa el-Eter Damaj, MBA. Non-Scientific Member. Community Representative-Not Affiliated with AUB

Adele Halabi, Lawyer. Legal Expertise. Non-Scientific Member

Wafa Khansa, MPH, Social Worker, AUBMC Social Work Department, Non-Voting member 

Maya Baydoun, MD. Fellow (representative of Peers). Internal Medicine - Endocrinology. Non-voting RSO Representative

Alternate Members

Micheal Clinton, PhD, Professor and Vice-Chair. School of Nursing. Alternate to Dr. Deborah Mukherji

Marie Maroun Aouad, MD. Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology. Alternate to Dr.  Sahar Siddik-Sayyed

Nabil Khoury, MD, Professor, Department of Diagnostic Radiology, Alternate to Dr. Lamya Ann Atweh  

Mazen El Sayyed, MD, Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine. Alternate to Dr. Marwan Refaat

Rima Wakim, MD, Assistant Professor Pediatrics Infectious Diseases, Department of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine. Alternate to Dr. Samar Muwakkit 

 Nathalie Zgheib, MD. Associate Professor. Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Alternate to  Dr. Rami Mahfouz.

 Eman Sbeity, MD, Instructor, Department of Surgery. Alternate to Dr. Yaser el-Hout

Lina Hussein Azhari. Community Representative-Not Affiliated with AUB. Alternate to Ms. Najwa el Eter.

 Laila Khalaf, BA. Community Representative, Non-Scientific Concerns, Not Affiliated with AUB. Alternate to Ms. Najwa el Eter.


Contact us Jobs Disclaimer Copyright Non-Discrimination/Title IX