American University of Beirut

Board Designated Professorships Program

On May 27, 2022, President Fadlo Khuri announced the launch of the Board Designated Professorships Program to recognize faculty excellence demonstrated through an outstanding record of several of the following: achievement in research, teaching, and service/outreach; international recognition and leadership; exemplary clinical care of patients, and a forward-looking trajectory for further advancement and impact. Read More

On October 17, 2022, the president announced that 73 faculty members across the university have been awarded Board Designated Professorships in recognition of their accomplishments, forward-looking leadership, and trajectory for further advancement and broader impact. Read More

Here is the full list of all the awardees:

Lara Nasreddine, Nutrition and Food Sciences 
Rami Zurayk, Landscape and Ecosystem Management
Samer Kharroubi, Nutrition and Food Sciences 
Shady Hamadeh, Agriculture

Ali Chamseddine, Physics
Antoine Ghauch, Chemistry
Arne Dietrich, Psychology
Bilal Kaafarani, Chemistry
Digambara Patra, Chemistry
Florian Bertrand, Math
Jihad Touma, Physics
Michel Bariche, Biology
Mike Osta, Biology
Nadia Abou Ali, CVSP
Pierre Karam, Chemistry
Raymond Brassier, Philosophy
Robert Myers, English
Sari Hanafi, SOAM
Shady Elbassuoni, CMPS
Sonja Mejcher-Atssi, English
Tamer Amin, Education
Tarek Ghaddar, Chemistry
Wafic Sabra, Physics

Mey Jurdi, Environmental Health
Shadi Saleh, Health Management and Policy

Ahmad Beydoun, Neurology
Albert El Hajj, Surgery
Ali Abu-Alfa, Internal Medicine
Ali Bazarbachi, Internal Medicine
Anwar Nassar, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Arafat Tfayli, Internal Medicine
Assaad Eid, Anatomy, Cell Biology and Physiological Sciences
Elie Akl, Internal Medicine
Fadi Bitar, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Fadi Maalouf , Psychiatry
George Araj, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Ghada El-Hajj Fuleihan, Internal Medicine
Ghassan Dbaibo, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Habib Dakik, Internal Medicine
Imad Uthman, Internal Medicine
Jamal Hoballah, Surgery
Joseph Ghafari, Otorhinolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Kassem Barada, Internal Medicine
Khalid Yunis, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Marianne Nihmah-Majdalani, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Marie Aouad-Maroun, Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine 
Marwan Refaat, Internal Medicine
Mazen Kurban, Dermatology
Miguel Abboud, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Nathalie Khoueiry-Zgheib, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Pierre Bou Khalil, Internal Medicine
Rami Mahfouz, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Rihab Nasr, Anatomy, Cell Biology and Physiological Sciences
Rose-Mary Boustany, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Roula Hourani-Rizk, Diagnostic Radiology
Samar Muwakkit, Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Samia Khoury, Neurology
Souha Kanj, Internal Medicine
Zeina Kanafani, Internal Medicine

Laila Farhood
Nuhad Dumit​

Ali Chehab, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Joseph Costantine, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Kamel Ghali, Mechanical Engineering 
Louay Bazzi, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Mohammad Ahmad, Chemical Engineering and Advanced Energy
Rabih Jabr, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Samir Mustapha, Mechanical Engineering 
Yousef Tawk, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Alain Daou, Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship 
Fida Afiouni, Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship 
Mohamad Mazboudi, Finance, Accounting and Managerial Economics  
Victor Araman, Business Information and Decision Systems​

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more