American Univesity of Beirut

EVP and Dean Mohamed Sayegh awarded the Kuwait Foundation Prize for the Advancement of Sciences

​​​​Safa Jafari Safa, Office of Communications,

Dr. Mohamed H. Sayegh, executive vice president of medicine and global strategy and Raja N. Khuri Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at AUB, has been awarded the Kuwait Prize 2018 in the field of fundamental sciences (biological sciences). Offered by the Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS), the prize honored Dr. Sayegh “for his globally recognized achievements as a prominent scientist and researcher in the field of transplantation medicine, not to mention his valuable research in renal medicine and transplantation immunobiology.”

Celebrating scientific achievements by awarding researchers and academics for their contributions, the Kuwait Prize aims to motivate and support human capabilities and encourage researchers to sustain their efforts in producing high-quality research in Kuwait and the Arab world. The foundation annually announces the Kuwait Prize for Kuwaiti and Arab researchers, the Scientific Production Prize for Kuwaiti scientists, and the Al-Nouri Prize for the best PhD thesis in education in the Arab world. Dr. Sayegh was honored in an awarding ceremony held on December 5, 2018, under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, the Amir of the State of Kuwait and Chairman of KFAS Board of Directors.

“It gives me great pride to be recognized by the prestigious Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS).  As an AUB alumnus, who returned to work at AUB, I am honored to receive this award which is a step further in our endeavor to continuously seek advancement and innovation.”

Dr. Sayegh started his career path by obtaining his MD with distinction from the American University of Beirut in 1984 and moved to the US to complete his residency training in internal medicine, his research and clinical fellowship in renal medicine. He ascended the academic ranks at Harvard Medical School to become a Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics in 2003, the Warren E. Grupe and John P. Merrill Endowed Chair in Transplantation Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and director of the Schuster Family Transplantation Research Center at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Boston Children’s Hospital.

With numerous publications and contributions, committee and board memberships worldwide, chair positions, and prestigious titles in international associations, Dr. Sayegh’s record encompasses many distinguished awards and honors, including being the first recipient of the American Society of Transplantation Mentor Award in Transplantation in 2008, and receiving more recently the National Cedar Award in 2014. Dr. Sayegh also served as President of the American Society of Transplantation.

Since his return to Lebanon and AUB in 2009, he developed an ambitious and impactful plan for the AUB Medical Center (AUBMC) and healthcare in Lebanon and the region, known as the AUBMC 2020 Vision, propelling patient care, medical education, and research to new levels of excellence unprecedented in the Middle East region. In 2015, Sayegh was appointed as the executive vice president of medicine and global strategy at AUB. 

“Congratulations to my friend, the brilliant immunologist, EVP and Raja N. Khuri Dean of Medicine at AUB Mohamed H. Sayegh for receiving the 2018 KFAS award in Basic Sciences!” wrote AUB President Fadlo Khuri on Twitter on the day of the award ceremony.

The Kuwait Prize 2018 is awarded in four fields: fundamental sciences (biological sciences); applied sciences (clean and sustainable energy technologies); economics and social sciences (economy); and arts and literature (the studies of Arabic language and literature).

The Kuwait Prize 2018 was announced by KFAS Director-General Adnan Shihab-Eldin and jointly awarded in the field of fundamental sciences (biological sciences) to Dr. Mohamed Sayegh and Professor Hilal Ahmed Lashuel from Yemen, director of the Laboratory of Chemical Biology of Neurodegeneration of the Brain Mind Institute in the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. 

Previous AUB awardees during the past decade include faculty and alumni Dr. Samia Khoury; Dr. Ahmad Dallal; Dr. Yusuf Hannun; Dr. Nader El-Bizri; former trustee, Dr. Gabriel Rebeiz; Dr. Sari Hanafi; Dr. Huda Akil; Dr. George Tanios Helou; and, in the past year, Dr. Amin Arnaout, Dr. Saouma BouJaoude, and Dr. Nabil Matar.

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more