How to Nominate

​Nominations for Honorary Degrees

An Honorary Degree is given on a selective basis to distinguished individuals who, over the course of their careers, have made enduring contributions in the fields of academia, public or humanitarian service, arts and culture, business and philanthropy, and the media. An honorary doctorate may be awarded based on an exemplary record of scholarly excellence in a field of study in the sciences or humanities, artistic creativity, leadership, humanitarian service, or substantial efforts for the public good, as well as a demonstrated commitment to the humane and educational values that exemplify the mission of AUB.

Who can nominate​

The President of the University, Trustees, Faculty members (individually or jointly), and members of the University community can nominate candidates to receive honorary degrees.​

All nominations are forwarded to the Honorary Degree Committee (HDC) which reviews the nominations and makes its recommendations to the President for his review and endorsement. The HDC is appointed by the President and includes Trustees, the Provost, faculty members, and the Chief of Staff. Final confirmation is subject to the approval of the Board of Trustees.

An honorary degree nominee shall not be informed that his or her name has been nominated; additionally, the status of the candidacy may not be discussed with the nominators. An honorary degree recipient must be present at the award ceremony to receive the degree in person. No honorary degree recipient can receive an honorarium or speaker’s fee for accepting a degree or delivering a commencement speech.

Nominees may not be current AUB trustees, current employees of AUB, or active politicians (leaders of political parties, members of parliament, members of governments, and heads of state).

You can submit your nominations of candidates for the Honorary Doctorate Ceremony of June 5,​ 2020 by filling out this Online Form.

Nominations must be received no later than March 31, 2019.

If you have any questions or need further clarifications, please contact:

Mrs. Mary Jaber Nachar
Associate Vice President for Administration and Chief of Staff
+961-1-350000 ext. 2888