Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences (FAFS)
About FAFS
Research and Outreach
Student Resources
FAFS Career Services
Faculty Resources
Alumni and Friends
News and Events
Useful Links
Contact Us
Faculty Awards
The C.A. and the C.C. Rebeiz Annual Award:

This is a $1000 award given for the best research paper by a faculty member from FAFS. The procedural details of the research award are as follows:

  • The Faculty will forward to Dr. Constantin Rebeiz the top 3 or 5 research papers
  • Dr. Rebeiz will review them and choose one to receive the C.A and C.C. Rebeiz Award.

2012 Dr. Farah Naja “Dietary patterns and odds of Type 2 diabetes in Beirut, Lebanon: a case-control study” published in Nutrition and Metabolism
2011 Dr. Lara Nasreddine Validity of predictive equations developed to estimate body fat from anthropometry and bioelectrical impedance analysis in 8-10 year-old Children. published in the journal of Clinical Nurition
2009 Dr. Mustapha Haidar

Dr. Mustapha Haidar.  Title of Dr. Haidar’s manuscript “Blue light induced changes in inositol 1,4,5-trisphosphate in  dodder (Cuscuta campestris) seedlings” published in the Weed Research Journal.


Dr. Salma Talhouk

Title of Dr. Talhouk's paper "Molecular characterization of Lebanese olive germplasm" published in the Tree Genetics & Genomes.

Dr. Elie Barbour

Title of Dr. Barbour's paper "the Alleviation of Histopathologic Effects of Avian Influenza Virus by a Specific Nutrient Synergy" published in the International Journal of Applied Research in Veterinary Medicine

International Awards
  • Dr. Mohamad Abiad (NFSC): in 2010, awarded Certified Packaging Professional (CPP)
  • Dr. Elie Barbour (AVSC): in 2009, awarded the International Einstein Award for Scientific Achievement by IBC Cambridge and in 2010, awarded Queen Basma Bint Ali Award for presentation as a key note speaker at the 2nd International Conference on Herbal Medicine in Petra, Jordan.
  • Dr. Jad Chaaban (AGSC): in 2006, awarded World Bank Celebration of Success Certificate, for the Egypt Poverty & Social Impact Analysis Report and World Bank Lebanon Office SPOT Award for initiative and innovation.
  • Dr. Mustapha Haidar (AGSC): in 2003, awarded the Fullbright Fellowship.
  • Dr. Shadi Hamadeh (AVSC): in 1993, awarded the Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) Bronze Medal, in 1999, awarded the Fulbright Fellowship and in 2003 received the IDRC Senior Sabbatical Award.
  • Dr. Nahla Hwalla (NFSC): in 2009, awarded Fellow of International Union for Nutritional Sciences (IUNS) and in 2000 the Fulbright fellowship. 
  •  Dr. Omar Obeid (NFSC): in 2005, awarded the Abdul Hameed Shoman Award for Young Arab Researchers and 2010 awarded the Fullbright Fellowship
Contact us Jobs Disclaimer Copyright Non-Discrimination/Title IX