Delta Omega Chapter


Congratulations to our 2018 Delta Omega Inductees!

​We would like to congratulate our 7 newly inducted members of the Gamma Delta Chapter to the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health.

The Gamma Delta Chapter was established in 2011, at the Faculty of Health Sciences at the American University of Beirut. On an annual basis, a selected number of top-performing students enrolled in the Graduate Public Health Programs are granted membership to the chapter. Faculty, Alumni and Honorary members are also invited to join in a separate selection pool, recognizing exceptional work they have done for the public health community.

Similar to previous years, the awards were presented at the annual FHS award ceremony held by the Faculty of Health Sciences for the graduating students. Dean Iman Nuwayhid, Associate Dean Jocelyne DeJong and the Gamma Delta Chapter President Ms. Jinane Abi Ramia presented the awards to our newest inductees.

This year's inductees, all Master of Public Health graduates, were: Mamadou Ouattara, Ahmed Kassab, Vitus Atanga, Hussein Ismail, Rima Abdul Khalek, L'emira Lama El Ayoubi, and Mirvat Termos. ​

The Delta Omega Association (DOA) is a national honor society existing to encourage research and scholarship among students undertaking graduate studies in public health and to recognize achievement in the field of public health. It was founded by two graduate students, Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume and Dr. Claude W. Mitchell, in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University within the School of Hygiene and Public Health. The association aims to promote the graduate study of the public health field and to recognize outstanding achievement in the field.

Since its inception, Delta Omega has expanded to include over 100 chapters around the world, and has over 20,000 members working in all sectors of public health.​​