SAC Committee

​The CME program is under the continuous administration and guidance of the Scientific Advisory Council (SAC) at AUBMC. This council includes members from all the medical and administrative units at the hospital and represents one of the major sources of the activities.

The SAC's role is to advise and assist the CME Office on matters related to:

  • The role requested by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) that each institution has a Post Graduate Medical Education Council.

  • Compliance with ACCME guidelines and ANCC accreditation standards, in terms of assessing needs, defining target audience and other requirements for developing CME and CNE courses​

  • Gaps and needs analysis in CME and CNE

  • Strategic plans and periodic course of action for the CME office

  • Topics and suggestions for courses, conferences and workshops from AUBMC, and other local and regional universities and hospitals

  • Planning themes and topics for CME activities including MEMA over a 3 year cycle

  • Identifying scientific subcommittees to work with CME activity directors including MEMA

  • Recommending to Activity Directors, including the President of the MEMA, the choice of topics/themes,
    ​ guest speakers to consider and ideas and means to reach out to larger audiences

Below is list of current SAC Members:

Associate Dean for CME​

Ghassan Hamadeh, MD
SAC Director / Director of CMEGeorge Abi Saad, MD
Nursing ServicesAngela Massouh, MScN
CPDCNariman Iskandarani Tibi, TD
Immunology and MicrobiologyElias A. Rahal, PhD
DermatologyOussama Abbas, MD
SurgeryEman Sbaity, MD
PathologyIbrahim Khalifeh, MD
Hematology Oncology (Internal Medicine)Ali Taher, MD
AnesthesiologyCarine Zeeni, MD
CardiologySamir Alam, MD
PsychologyJoseph Khoury, MD
Diagnostic RadiologyNabil Khoury, MD
BiochemistryAyad A Jaffa, MD
OB/GYNAbdallah Adra, MD
Emergency Medicine DepartmentAmin Antoine Kazzi, MD
Family MedicineMona Osman, MD
Internal MedicineFuad Ziyyadeh, MD
School of NursingNuhad Yazbik-Dumit, PhD
PharmacologyNathalie Khoueiry-Zgheib, MD
OphthalmologyHaytham Salti, MD
PediatricsMarianne Nimah Majdalani, MD
ResearchMarwan Sabban, PhD
PharmacyUlfat Usta, PharmD
NutritionWidad Ayass, LD
Physical TherapyClaude Maroun, PT
OtolaryngologyAnthony Macari, MD
Radiation OncologyPhilip Taddei, MD