American University of Beirut

Department Leadership and Committees


Dr. Miguel Abboud​


Vice-chair for Clinical OperationsDr. Marianne Majdalani
Vice-chair for Research and Faculty Affairs Dr. Ghassan Dbaibo
Vice-chair for QualityDr. Mona Nabulsi
Vice-chair for Education Dr. Salman Mroueh


Program Directors and Clerkship Coordinators

Residency Program Directors
Program DirectorDr. Rana Sharara-Chami
Associate Program DirectorDr. Katia El Taoum
Clerkship Coordinators
Dr. Durriyah Sinno
Med IV Dr. Nadine Yazbeck
Fellowship Program Directors
Neonatology Dr. Lama Charafeddine
Pediatric Critical Care Dr. Marianne Majdalani
Pediatric CardiologyDr. Ziad Bulbul
Pediatric Infectious DiseasesDr. Ghassan Dbaibo
Pediatric NeurologyDr. Rolla Shbarou
Pediatric Hematology-OncologyDr. Nidale Tarek



Department Management Team

Chair: Dr. MigueL Abboud


  • Dr. Marianne Majdalani (Vice-chair for clinical operations)
  • Dr. Ghassan Dbaibo (Vice-chair for research and faculty affairs)
  • Dr Mona Nabulsi (Vice-chair for Quality) 
  • Dr. Salman Mroueh (Vice-chair for Education)
  • Dr. Rana Sharara-Chami (Program Director)
  • Dr. Katia El Taoum (Associate Program Director)
  • Dr. Nadine Yazbeck (Medical Director of 6N and Med IV clerkship coordinator)
  • Dr. Durriyah Sinno (Medical Director of OPD and Med III clerkship coordinator)
  • Mrs Amal Rahi (Clinical Department Administrator)

​​Clinical Competency Committee

Chair: Dr. Rana Sharara-Chami (Program Director)


  • Dr. Katia El Taoum (Associate Program Director)
  • Dr. Nadine Yazbeck
  • Dr. Rima Hanna Wakim
  • Dr. Lama Charafeddine
  • Dr. Marianne Majdalani
  • Dr. Nidale Tarek
  • Dr. Sami Sanjad
  • Dr. Miguel Abboud (ex-officio)

​Program Evaluation Committee

Chair: Dr. Rana Sharara-Chami (Program Director)


  • Dr. Katia El Taoum (Associate Program Director)
  • Dr. Ghassan Dbaibo
  • Dr. Fadi Bitar
  • Dr. Marianne Majdalani
  • Dr. Hala Tfayli
  • Dr. Khaled Yunis
  • Dr. Miguel Abboud (ex-officio)
  • Resident representative 

Fellowship and Residency Research Project committee

Chair: Dr. Ghassan Dbaibo


  • Dr. Salman Mroueh
  • Dr. Rana Sharara-Chami
  • Dr. Khalid Yunis
  • Dr. Hala Tfayli
  • Dr. Marianne Majdalani
  • Dr. Rose-Mary Boustany
  • Dr. Raya Saab

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more