American University of Beirut


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Association for Evaluation and Accreditation of Medical Education Programs (TEPDAD) International Medical Education Accreditation Council has ruled that the AUB medical school’s program meets the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) Standards satisfactorily. Accordingly, the Faculty of Medicine has been granted “full accreditation” for a period of six years. In securing this accreditation, AUB-FM is now in compliance with the ECFMG requirement that, by 2023, all applicants to US medical schools or residency programs must come from medical schools accredited by a WFME-approved body.

Accreditation was granted based on the Faculty of Medicine’s self-evaluation report (SER) and the onsite evaluation visit of the Council team. A formal report on the evaluation and recommendations for continuous quality improvement will soon be shared with us and a certificate will be prepared and given in the near future.


The Faculty of Medicine will be expected to send yearly progress reports on developments and changes in our program in relation to the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) Global Standards for Basic Medical Education. The Faculty will also have to prepare a full self-evaluation report at the end of three years for an interim evaluation with the expectation to continue to meet the WFME Standards and show the evidence for continuous renewal and improvement.

Executive Vice President of Medicine and Global Strategy and Raja N. Khuri Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at AUB, Dr. Mohamed H. Sayegh, expressed his pride in such an achievement, and extended his thanks to everyone who has contributed to this achievement, in particular the members of the Self Evaluation Review Committee who collated prepared the extensive SER upon which accreditation was grants, namely: Associate Dean Kamal Badr, Self-evaluation Coordinator and Nathalie Zananiri; Students Reda Chalhoub, Mohamad Chahrour, Hazar Kanj, Mohamad Ali Cheaito and Sarah El Halabi; Residents Batoul Jaafar and Mohamad-Ali Rida; Faculty Doctors Zakia Dimassi , Rihab Nasr, Umayya Musharrafieh, and Joseph Nassif; Administrative Staff Reem Saad, Mahmoud Harb, and Caroline Haddad. 

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more