Strategic Initiatives Maroun Semaan Research and Outreach Support Unit

​​​​The Dean’s Office has launched four strategic research initiatives of the Maroun Semaan Endowment in July 2018 and an outreach support mechanism in January 2020. All MSFEA faculty members who have a full-time non-visiting professorial rank are eligible to apply.​ More information about each initiative is available below.

  • Protected Time: provides MSFEA faculty members with more dedicated time for research through course buy-outs.​

Submission Form​

  • Equipment Grants: supports​ the purchase of major research-dedicated scientific equipment.


Submission For​m​

  • Visiting Scholars: consists of hosting in MSFEA visiting scholars with whom MSFEA faculty may work to develop international collaborations which can open up funding opportunities in the home countries of foreign institutions.


Submission Form

  • Proposal and Paper Editing:​ supports​ faculty members in technical editing of their extramural grant proposals and journal manuscripts.​

Email your proposal or manuscript to the Dean’s Office​​

  • Outreach Support Mechanism (OSM)​ - Seed Fund​s and Travel: provides MSFEA faculty members with the opportunity to establish and manage outreach activities that support both faculty members and institutional growth. The OSM will provide financial support to facilitate collaboration with internationally recognized universities, research centers as well as industries.

​​​​Applications procedure, evaluation criteria, and deadlines

Protected time awardees

Fall 2020-2021

  • Rana Bilbeisi
  • Hazem Hajj
  • Rouwaida Kanj
  • Mohammad Mansour (Maroun Semaan Scholar)
  • Nadine Moacdieh​

Spring 2019-2020

  • Jason Amatoury
  • Fouad Azizi
  • Naseem Daher
  • Imad Elhajj
  • Mona Harb
  • Massoud Khraiche
  • Rami Mhanna (Maroun Semaan Scholar)
  • Fadi Zaraket

Fall 2019-2020

  • Rouwaida Kanj
  • Rami Mhanna
  • Samir Mustapha (Maroun Semaan Scholar)
  • Elie Shammas
  • Ali Tehrani

​S​pring 2018-2019

  • Jason Amatoury
  • Daniel Asmar
  • Mariette Award
  • Joseph Costantine (Maroun Semaan Scholar)
  • Naseem Daher
  • Rana Haddad
  • Massoud Khraiche
  • Issam Srour
  • Fadi Zaraket​​

Equipment grant awards

AY 201​9-2020

  • Laser milling machine

AY 201​8-2019​

  • A dynamic mechanical analysis instrument which can be used to characterize the behavior of a wide range of materials
  • An optical profiler which enables non-contact surface measurements of micro- and nano-scale surface features


  • The call for applications for​ protected time in spring 2020-2021 will be opened during spring 2019-2020.
  • For equipment gra​nts, the​ call for equipment grants for AY 2020-2021 will be opened during spring 2019-2020. 
  • For visiting scholars and proposal and paper editing, there is no deadline. Applications are received and evaluated on a rolling basis.

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more