American University of Beirut

Award Ceremony

 ​It was a tightly contested race among 84 teams (2 participants per team) from 11 universities from Lebanon, Egypt, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates until the decisive last question in the 2014 International Organic Chemistry Competition cast the winners!

The monetary cash awards for the first four prizes were: $1500 for the first prize, $1000 for the second prize, $500 for the third prize, and $300 for the fourth prize. In addition, the Royal Society of Chemistry granted the first prize winners two copies of their Merck Index each worth $150 while Oxford University Press granted each member of the first highest 10 placed teams in OC3 a copy of their best-selling book in Organic Chemistry by Clayden, Greeves, and Warren.

A Sudden Death Round after Round 2 decided the first two prizes.

The four winning teams of the 2014 Organic Chemistry Competition are:

  •  FIRST PRIZE (180 points): Marwa​ Halimeh and Marwa Nahouli from Beirut Arab University;
  • SECOND PRIZE (180 points): Razan Issa and Farouk Kassem from Beirut Arab University;
  • THIRD PRIZE (175 points): Aed Saab and Shiraz El Adam from the Lebanese American University;
  •  FOURTH PRIZE (170 points): Jawad Khalifeh and Elio Adib from the American University of Beirut.​

The awards were handed in to the winners by the Lebanese Minister of Education and Higher Education, H. E. Prof. Hassan Diab, Dr. Zahida Darwish, the Secretary General for the Lebanese National Commission for UNESCO, and the Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences at AUB, Prof. Patrick McGreevy.


Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more