American University of Beirut

Steering Committee Membership

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Steering Committee Leadership  

Dr. Mohamed Harajli, Chair of the Self-Study Steering Committee; Provost, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, MSFEA
Dr. Saouma Boujaoude, Vice Chair of the Self-Study Steering Committee; Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, Associate Dean, Professor, Education, FAS 
Dr. Hala Muhtasib, Co-chair of the Self-Study Steering Committee; Professor, Biology, FAS 

Accreditation Liaison Officer to MSCHE  

Mrs. Boushra Rahal Alameh, Assistant to Provost for Academic Affairs, Director of Institutional Accreditation​, Office of the Provost 

Working Group Co-chairs of the Standards for Accreditation and Verification of Compliance

Dr. Kamal Khuri Makdisi, Co-chair of WG I; Professor, Mathematics, FAS
Dr. Ramzi Sabra, Co-chair of WG I; Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education, Chairperson, Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology, FM
Dr. Monique Chaaya, Co-chair of WG II; Professor, Epidemiology and Population Health, FHS
Dr. Colin A. Smith, Co-chair of WG II; Associate Dean for Research, Professor, Biology, FAS
Dr. Bilal Orfali, Co-chair of WG III; Chairperson, Associate Professor, Arabic and Near Eastern Languages, FAS
Dr. Salah Sadek, Co-chair of WG III; Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, MSFEA
Dr. Karma El Hassan, Co-chair of WG IV; Director of the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment, Associate Professor, Education, FAS
Dr. Talal Nizameddin, Co-chair of WG IV; Dean of Student Affairs, OSA
Dr. Arne Dietrich, Co-chair of WG V; Professor, Psychology, FAS
Dr. Ali Hajj, Co-chair of WG V; Director of AAU, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, MSFEA
Dr. Ammar Olabi, Co-chair of WG VI; Professor, Nutrition and Food Sciences, FAFS
Dr. Najat Saliba, Co-chair of WG VI; Director of the Nature Conservation Center, Professor, Chemistry, FAS
Dr. Zaher Dawy, Co-chair of WG VII; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, MSFEA
Dr. Samar Noureddine, Co-chair of WG VII; Professor, HSON
Dr. Imad Elhajj, Chair of WG VIII; Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, MSFEA


Dr. Lina Choueiri,  Associate Provost, Professor, English, FAS
Dr. Nadia El-Cheikh, Dean, Professor, History and Archaeology, FAS
Dr. Steve Harvey, Dean, Professor, Marketing, Management & Entrepreneurship, OSB
Dr. Alan Shihadeh, Dean, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, MSFEA 
Dr. Syrine Hout, Professor, English, FAS
Mr. Martin John Owen Asser, Associate Vice President for Communications 
Mrs. Mary Jaber, AVP for Administration and Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Mrs. Rania Hussein, Process Improvement Manager,​ Office of the President 
Ms. Nour Hasbini, Undergraduate Student, MSFEA
Mr. Elias Bechara, Graduate Student, FAS    

​​Working Groups​ Membership

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more